THE DELIGHTS OF MAKING LOVE

If I die, good lady, in the future, may I become the soft rumble of thunder that accompanies the bright light of the full moon/And if you, noble one, should meet with my successor what can be done about it–let it be,/But when you are lying on the sleeping mat, listen to me, lend an ear to my weeping,/ May I be visible to you for a moment, so that you cease your embaces and remember the delights of making love with me.

(Arjuna wiwaha on his departure from heaven, canto xxxv, Blossoms of Longing, Ancient Verses of Love and Lament. Translations from the Old Javanese by Thomas M. Hunter. The Lontar Foundation, Jakarta.  Drawing by abbysoekarno 2011).

Leave a Reply

