THE WET HEAT OF PASSION.

When the day had begun to cool, I descended from my sleeping chamber to the garden below/Serenely taking shelter in the shade beneath its trees I was unattended as I cooled down from the wet heat of passion/Listless and  fatigued I covered myself with a wrap of boughs and prepared to stand, naked while/ Unaware of his approach behind me, I was pleasantly startled when he covered my eyes with his hands. (Krishnayana, canto xxxv, Blossoms of Longing, Ancient Verses of Love and Lament. Translations from the Old Javanese by Thomas M Hunter, The Lontar Foundation, Jakarta. Drawing by abbysoekarno 2011).

Leave a Reply

